Tricky Inheritance Problem

Legal questions answered by Cyprus property lawyer Louise Zambartas

Moderator: louisez

GrahamB

Tricky Inheritance Problem

Post by GrahamB »

Dear all,

I’m new to the site - I hope someone can help me.
I’m a UK resident. My sister (late 40’s) has just died in the last few weeks suddenly (for us) and tragically. A bit of background summarised in bullet points:
• She bought a house in Cyprus in 2001, she has title deeds.
• She made a will in Cyprus on purchasing the house
• She named me as sole beneficiary of the house in Cyprus
• I don’t know who was named executor.
• She was married in the uk to a UK citizen in 2008 - spouse is now next of kin and apart from not telling anyone (I’m a doctor) she was unwell (during lockdown) with a treatable illness which ultimately killed her ; he has become incommunicado with me and my mother - apart from the odd text message replies to questions (like when is the funeral). This includes excluding us from being present with the funeral directors to arrange the funeral.
• We don’t have my sisters Cyprus will but it’s existence is acknowledged by him.
• He is ‘claiming’ my sister did not make a UK will, this is not what we understand. He has asked a solicitor for letters of administration. I found this out after he asked her neighbours in Cyprus for an approximate value of the Cyprus house - they informed me.
• His brother-in-law is a uk lawyer and sister is a legal secretary.
• We don’t have access to my sisters property in UK.

Phew!

So I need some advice. My sister was always insistent - right up to her death - that the house in Cyprus was going to me. She bought it with inheritance from my dad who also died young when we were in our 20s.
1) I think I can pay for a search for a UK will as most are registered. Can I search for a will in Cyprus?
2) If there is a will (in Cyprus) does that not exclude the ability to ask for ‘letters of administration’ in the uk?