Order to attend local court re assets

Drop in & say hello
Rodtomsa

Order to attend local court re assets

Post by Rodtomsa »

Hi all, I am new to site, and at the end of my tether. Bought a villa in 2006 in Ayai Thekla, with my brother in law, he went bankrupt in 2009, payments became impossible, especially after late charges and rates increased to 14%. Bank refused to negotiate new reasonable rates, so offer them the villa back, still sat empty, engaged uk solicitor, who has since closed down
Had judgement made in Cyprus, transferred to uk in 2013. Recently ordered to attend court to examine my assets
Solicitor in uk did nothing, reported to ombudsman who found in my favour, but unable to help with Cyprus. Spoken to numerous uk lawyers re above issues including negligence by solicitor, but funds for that in itself are huge. Where do I go next, can anyone point me in the right direction
Nigel Howarth
Site Admin

Re: Order to attend local court re assets

Post by Nigel Howarth »

Hi Rodtomsa and welcome to the forum.

Your next step should be to instruct a solicitor to advise and represent you at court.

I expect what has happened is that once you stopped making loan repayments the bank issued a writ or a termination notice that action wasn't defended in Cyprus.

The court awarded judgement to the bank - and I expect that included the recovery of the property plus an amount of money being the difference in the valuation of the property and the balance of the outstanding loan plus costs.

The bank applied for and obtained an EU Enforcement Order enabling the judgement of the Cypriot court to be enforced in the UK.

So you and presumably your brother-in-law are now at the stage where the court is trying to deceide how the debt to the bank can be repaid.

Regards,
Nigel Howarth
Independent information & advice for Cyprus property buyers
Contact Nigel Howarth
Read the latest Cyprus property news
Rodtomsa

Post by Rodtomsa »