developer's mortgage

General questions & discussions on Cyprus property related matters
Jo B

developer's mortgage

Post by Jo B »

Hi, I'm new to all this so forgive my ignorance re some of the finer points of Cyprus home-buying...
We purchased off plan in a small development, the builder is now having "financial difficulties" & is trying to broker a deal with the owners where he gets paid a sum for transfering the Title to the buyers' names in addition to the buyers paying off his mortgage, which seems to have been taken out after contracts were signed. The situation is a lot more complicated- but my question at the moment is; if we wait for the developer to go belly-up -which looks exceedingly likely-will the Title be transferred to the bank, who have the charge on the land? In which case will we be able to negotiate a deal with the bank (to have the mortgage paid off) & save ourselves the developers "fee" for transfer?
Any advice appreciated!

Jo
Nigel Howarth
Site Admin

Re: developer's mortgage

Post by Nigel Howarth »

Hi Jo and welcome to the Cyprus property forum.

I'm sorry to hear of your situation, the current financial situation is giving many people a lot of headaches.

If your contact was deposited at the Land Registry BEFORE your developer mortgaged the land, then your claim to ownership will take precedence over the banks claim on the land. However, that mortgage will not go away - so when you come to sell your home, the bank will want the debt to be cleared - you could end up paying some of the proceeds from the sale to the bank. Although this may sound OK, the bank will continue adding interest to the unpaid amount which could grow considerably over time.

Also, you cannot just go to the bank and pay off the developer's mortgage because your developer will have to agree to you doing so.