selling property and bank restrictions

Questions about selling property
amoda23

selling property and bank restrictions

Post by amoda23 »

Hello, I am new to this forum and this is my first question. I am a UK citizen and resident and have never lived in Cyprus, although my mother lived here and the property she lived in was in my name (I have the title deeds). She recently passed away and I wish to sell the apartment. Normally this would be a normal procedure, but with the recent bank restrictions will it be possible for me to transfer the sale money direct to my UK account?

many thanks,
Amoda
Nigel Howarth
Site Admin

Re: selling property and bank restrictions

Post by Nigel Howarth »

Hello Amoda - welcome to the forum and my condolences on the passing of your mother.

At the present time there are 'Temporary Restrictive Measures' in place limiting the amount of money you can take out of Cyprus. These are gradually being relaxed and you need to keep an eye on the latest position at the Central Banks website at http://www.centralbank.gov.cy/nqcontent ... =1&lang=en

However, if you sell the property to a someone with a bank account outside Cyprus then it is possible to complete the transaction without any money entering the country. Also, money deposited from abroad into a Cyprus bank account can be taken abroad without restrictions.

Regards,
Nigel Howarth
Independent information & advice for Cyprus property buyers
Contact Nigel Howarth
Read the latest Cyprus property news
amoda23

Post by amoda23 »

thanks for your swift reply .. this is very helpful
Nigel Howarth
Site Admin

Post by Nigel Howarth »

Hello Amoda

I've just picked up this bit of news from 'incyprus':

"A road map to end capital controls for Cypriots was announced yesterday but no clear timeline was given as to when those restrictions would be completely lifted.